List of Currency Names in Asian Countries with Their Exchange Rates

daftar nama mata uang negara asia

Asia is one of the largest and most diverse continents, with various countries and cultures. Each country in Asia has its own currency, reflecting its history and culture.

In this article, we will discuss the list of currency names in Asian countries. This article will provide comprehensive information about currency names, currency symbols, and their exchange rates.

Currencies of Southeast Asian Countries

The currencies in the Southeast Asia region vary, and each country has its own official currency. Here is a brief explanation of the currencies used in some Southeast Asian countries:

Country Currency
Brunei Darussalam The Brunei Dollar (BND)
Filipina The Philippine Peso (PHP)
Indonesia Rupiah Indonesia (IDR)
Kamboja The Cambodian Riel (KHR)
Laos The Lao Kip (LAK)
Malaysia The Malaysian Ringgit (MYR)
Myanmar The Myanmar Kyat (MMK)
Singapore The Singapore Dollar (SGD)
Thailand The Thai Baht (THB)
  Vietnam The Vietnamese Dong (VND)
Timor Leste   US Dollar (USD)

Exchange rates in Southeast Asia vary depending on various factors such as the country's economic conditions, monetary policies, and political events. Generally, exchange rates in Southeast Asia tend to be stable. Here are the exchange rates of currencies in Southeast Asia:

  • The Brunei Dollar (BND) is the currency of Brunei Darussalam. This currency is pegged to the Singapore Dollar at an exchange rate of 1 BND = 1.00 SGD.
  • The Cambodian Riel (KHR) is the currency of Cambodia. This currency has a very low exchange rate against the US Dollar, at 1 USD = 4,000 KHR.
  • The Indonesian Rupiah (IDR) is the currency of Indonesia. This currency has a relatively stable exchange rate against the US Dollar, at 1 USD = 14,500 IDR.
  • The Lao Kip (LAK) is the currency of Laos. This currency has a very low exchange rate against the US Dollar, at 1 USD = 12,000 LAK.
  • The Malaysian Ringgit (MYR) is the currency of Malaysia. This currency has a relatively stable exchange rate against the US Dollar, at 1 USD = 3.800 MYR.
  • The Myanmar Kyat (MMK) is the currency of Myanmar. This currency has a very low exchange rate against the US Dollar, at 1 USD = 1,700 MMK.
  • The Philippine Peso (PHP) is the currency of the Philippines. This currency has a relatively stable exchange rate against the US Dollar, at 1 USD = 266 PHP.
  • The Singapore Dollar (SGD) is the currency of Singapore. This currency is considered stable and strong, and is often used as a reserve currency in various countries.
  • The Thai Baht (THB) is the currency of Thailand. This currency has a relatively stable exchange rate against the US Dollar, at 1 USD = 650 THB.
  • The Vietnamese Dong (VND)is the currency of Vietnam. One dong is equivalent to about 0.00002 US Dollars.

Currency of ASEAN Countries

ASEAN is an acronym for Association of Southeast Asian Nations or the Association of Southeast Asian Nations. ASEAN member countries include Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar (formerly known as Burma), the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam. Ten ASEAN member countries use different currencies:

Country Currency
Singapore The Singapore Dollar (SGD)
Malaysia The Malaysian Ringgit (MYR)
Thailand The Thai Baht (THB)
Brunei Darussalam The Brunei Dollar (BND)
Indonesia Rupiah Indonesia (IDR)
Filipina The Philippine Peso (PHP)
Myanmar The Myanmar Kyat (MMK)
Vietnam The Vietnamese Dong (VND)
Kamboja The Cambodian Riel (KHR)
Laos The Lao Kip (LAK)

Currency in ASEAN

ASEAN is considering creating its own currency called the ASEAN Dollar. This currency would facilitate trade and investment among ASEAN member countries.

However, there are still many challenges to overcome before the ASEAN Dollar can be implemented. One of the challenges is the differences in currency exchange rates among ASEAN member countries. Additionally, there needs to be agreement on how this currency will be managed and supervised.

If the ASEAN Dollar can be implemented, it would be one of ASEAN's greatest achievements. This currency would strengthen economic integration among ASEAN member countries and enhance their competitiveness internationally.

Currencies of East Asian Countries

The currencies of East Asian countries are not the same. While there are similarities, such as North Korea and South Korea using currencies named won, their actual values differ. For a clearer understanding, let's look at the names of the currencies used in East Asian countries:

Country Currency
Tiongkok Yuan China (CNY)
Japan Yen Japan (JPY)
South Korea South Korean Won (KRW)
Korea Utara North Korean Won (KPW)
Hong Kong Hong Kong Dollar (HKD)
Taiwan Taiwan Dollar (TWD)
Makau Macau Pataca (MOP)
Mongolia Mongolian Tugrik (MNT)

Currency in West Asian Countries

Currency in West Asian countries also varies. While there are some similarities, such as the use of the dinar in countries like Iraq, Jordan, and Bahrain, the actual value as well as the economic policies and conditions of these countries can lead to differences in their currency values. 

Read Also: Comprehensive List of World Currencies

Therefore, despite using similar names, the actual values of these currencies can vary significantly. Here are the currencies used in West Asian countries:

Country Currency
Arab Saudi Saudi Riyal (SAR)
Armenia Armenian Dram (AMD)
Azerbaijan Azerbaijani Manat (AZN)
Bahrain Bahraini Dinar (BHD)
Georgia Georgian Lari (GEL)
Iran Iranian Rial (IRR)
Irak Iraqi Dinar (IQD)
Israel Israeli New Shekel (ILS)
Kuwait Kuwaiti Dinar (KWD)
Turkey Turkish Lira (TRY)
Lebanon Lebanese Pound (LBP)
Oman Omani Rial (OMR)
Palestina Egyptian Pound, Jordanian Dinar, Israeli New Shekel
Qatar Qatari Riyal (QAR)
Siprus Euro (EUR)
Suriah Syrian Pound (SYP)
Uni Emirat Arab UAE Dirham (AED)
Yaman Yemeni Rial (YER)
Yordania Jordanian Dinar (JOD)

Currency in South Asian Countries

Currency in South Asian countries varies significantly. Despite some similarities in currency names, such as the use of the rupee in India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Nepal, the actual values and economic factors in each country's market conditions make their currency values different from one another. 

Therefore, even though they use similar names, the actual values of these currencies can vary greatly. Here are the currencies used in South Asian countries:

Country Currency
India Rupee India (INR)
Pakistan Rupee Pakistan (PKR)
Bangladesh Taka (BDT)
Sri Lanka Rupee Sri Lanka (LKR)
Nepal Rupee Nepal (NPR)
Bhutan Ngultrum (BTN)
Maladewa Rufiyaa (MVR)
Afghanistan Afghani (AFN)

Currency in Central Asian Countries

Most of Central Asia relies on cash transactions. While there are few ATMs outside major cities, most only accept Visa cards. Typically, shops and restaurants do not accept credit card payments except in five-star hotels. 

Therefore, it's advisable to carry a sufficient amount of US dollars in cash that you can exchange. Here is a list of currencies in Central Asian countries:

Country Currency
Kazakhstan Tenge Kazakhstan (KZT)
Kyrgyzstan Som Kyrgyzstan (KGS)
Tajikistan Somoni Tajikistan (TJS)
Uzbekistan Som Uzbekistan (UZS)
Turkmenistan Manat Turkmenistan (TMT)

By knowing the names and brief information about currencies in Asian countries, you can better understand the cultures and histories of each country in the Asian region. 

For those who want to send money abroad quickly and easily, just use Easylink to send money freely to over 170 countries worldwide. Andto find out more information on to send money abroad.

form newsletter

Register Newsletter

Register now to get the latest articles from Easylink!